A former commercial wharf, Princes Wharf holds a special place within Auckland's vibrant downtown district.
Opened in 1929, Princes Wharf is named after the Prince of Wales, who visited the city in 1921. Accessible from Quay Street, and just a stone's throw away from Auckland's Viaduct Basin, the location's drawcard is stunning views of the Waitematā Harbour.
Drawing from the building's industrial history, heritage features have been retained and enhanced in the making of Somm. The original concrete ceilings and pillars have been exposed & restored, revealing the layers of history and to keep the integrity of the building.
Somm's interior is punctuated with materials traditionally found in New Zealand's prestigious winery regions. Timber in walnut oak, earthy stone and clay tiles ground the space, giving a subtle nod to the provenance of the wines it's showcasing. It's rusticism with a sleekm refined edge.
The waterfront location is free for interpretation, but at Somm it is viewed as a subtle nod to the role water plays in the winemaking process. A celebration in how we talk about wine — its viscosity, its intensity, its complexity. These are the conversations we want to spark.